Dear colleagues,

It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to participate in the SA Heart® Congress 2021, this year to be held virtually from 29-31 October 2021.  With the option of going virtual, we hope to establish a stronger connection with the cardiovascular community from anywhere around the country, the continent and the world.

Under the leadership of Dr David Jankelow, the immediate past president of SA Heart® and Congress Chair 2021, an exciting and innovative programme, geared at being practically relevant, has been devised. The theme this year is ‘A Masterclass’.

Building on your contribution to the success of our past meetings, we are confident of our comprehensive programme covering a range of contemporary topics in cardiology and featuring eminent regional and international experts in the field.

Welcome to SA Heart® Congress 2021!

Dr Blanche Cupido
President: SA Heart®

On behalf of the organising committee of SA Heart® 2021 - A Masterclass, it is my great pleasure to invite you to attend our first virtual congress from the 29 – 31 October 2021. A wide local and international faculty will provide for a current overview of cardiovascular medicine.

Our programme, through a unique digital platform will explore the latest science and advancements in the treatment of heart disease.

We wish to stimulate a creative exchange of ideas with much collaboration and learning. I look forward to welcoming you to a scintillating educational experience.

Dr David Jankelow
SA Heart® Congress Convenor
Immediate Past President SA Heart®

On behalf of the SA Heart®  board, I would like to welcome you to the annual congress of the South African Heart Association. The association's goals of promoting public awareness, fostering fellowships, improving practice guidelines, and promoting research, training and teaching in the field of cardiovascular healthcare delivery are all embodied in the spirit of the congress, “A Masterclass”, as envisioned by Dr David Jankelow and the organising committee.  

The congress attracts cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, specialist physicians and other medical practitioners, as well as basic scientists, technologists, nurses and health professionals, who all share a passion for this field. Attendees will not only be able to present their work and learn about latest developments from colleagues and industry, but also build and re-establish relationships with collaborators in a multi-disciplinary environment.  The  latest communication software and technologies will be used to maximise the conference experience for the attendees, and to offer the best value proposition for industry exhibitors and representatives.

Many thanks to our partners  who help to make this event possible, and to all our members for their loyal support.

Professor Deon Bezuidenhout
Chairman of the Board


Members of the Scientific Committee

Dr Blanche Cupido

Professor Neil Davies

Professor Anton Doubell

Dr Adele Greyling

Sister Waheeda Howell

Dr David Jankelow

Professor John Lawrenson

Professor Pravin Manga

Dr Ruchika Meel

Dr Martin Mpe

Professor Richard Nethanonda

Dr Alfonso Pecararo

Professor Andrew Sarkin

Dr Helmuth Weich